Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact

What is the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC)?

The Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) has been voted into law by 26 states as of July 20, 2017 and will now be the compact recognized by NCSBN. Full roll-out is scheduled for January 19, 2018.  The Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) increases access to care while maintaining public protection at the state level. Under the eNLC, nurses are able to provide care to patients in other eNLC states, without having to obtain additional licenses. Nurses with an original NLC multistate license will be grandfathered into the eNLC. New applicants residing in compact states will need to meet 11 uniform licensure requirements. Those who do not meet the new licensure requirements may still be eligible for a single state license.

Click here to access the NCBSN eNLC FAQ page

eNLC Fact Sheet Download

Explanatory Videos

DORA FAQ page on the eNLC

CNA eNLC Talking Points